Back to Home

The Top 3 Mary Sue Characters

A “Mary Sue” is perfect. Handsome or beautiful, smart, successful, morally flawless, etc. They drive me crazy. And they’re no fun to read about. I mean, reading about a perfect character is almost as bad as having your perfect friend tell you how hard it was to choose between Yale and Harvard. Barf!

Here are three Mary Sue characters I wish had been more flawed. (Or “Gary Stu” for the guys, if you prefer.)

  1. Jack Ryan. Especially from Patriot Games. Look, Tom Clancy is the godfather of technothrillers. His books, generally, hold up well. And I loved Hunt for Red October. But, seriously, Jack Ryan is too perfect. From his humility about his good looks, his scholar/professor brains that match his former military-and-general-badassery, he’s the ultimate Mary Sue.

 

  1. Rey. Like the Rey from Star Wars. She’s attractive, a natural pilot, and so smart she picks up The Force in lightning speed. But the real problem with the character is she has no flaws. I guess that works if you’re trying to sell dolls and Halloween costumes to children. So, mission accomplished, I suppose.

 

  1. James Bond. Whether he’s seducing the ladies, charming dignitaries, escaping majestically, or cutting down baddies, Bond is insufferable. He’s too perfect. Sometimes I read those Ian Fleming spy novels and I want someone to kick bond in the balls.

 


All Systems Down


In the wake of the cyber attacks, electrical grids fail, satellites crash to earth, and the destinies of nine strangers collide.
 
Strangers whose survival depends upon each other’s skills and courage.
 
For fans of Michael Crichton and Tom Clancy, ALL SYSTEMS DOWN is a riveting cyber war thriller that presents a threat so credible you’ll be questioning reality.
 


Read Chapter 1